Promoting Language and Literacy: Building bridges from classroom to home

Next Broadcast Call will take place on September 24,

1:00pm - 1:45pm EDT (10:00am - 10:45am PDT)

The next Front Porch Broadcast presentation will focus on promoting language and literacy at home and at preschool. Here are some key questions that the presenter, Dr. Kevin Cole, will discuss:

  • When is my child ready to look at books with me?
  • What kinds of books are best to look at with my child?
  • Do I have to be a good reader to look at books with my child?
  • I speak more than one language? What language should I speak with my child?
  • What if my child wants to look at the same book over and over?

Supporting research will be summarized. The presentation will focus on exactly how parents and teachers can use books and play to promote language and literacy.

Dr. Cole was a Senior Researcher at Washington Research Institute, and Research Faculty at the University of Washington. He has conducted a number of model demonstration and research projects in early childhood education and language development. Dr. Cole has also worked as a Speech-Language Pathologist, allowing him to integrate research and practice.

The National Center on Quality Teaching and Learning (NCQTL) hosts the Front Porch Series Broadcast Calls the fourth Monday of every month. These calls provide an opportunity for you to hear from national experts on current research and findings in early childhood.

Join NCQTL for the next call of the series, Promoting Language and Literacy: Building Bridges from Classroom to Home on September 24th, at 1:00 p.m. EST (10:00 a.m. PST).

Can’t make it? Don’t worry. The broadcast will be recorded and you can view it later at Head Start’s Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center (ECLKC). You can also download transcripts of the series.